• Strictly Water Colour

• , 1 Strictly Water Colour
    Having lived in China for three years now,I'm constantly jumping back and forth between German and English in my everyday life, and as most of the instructional websites about water colours on the internet are in English I'll just write something in English too now.

I've been doing water colours continuously for several months now. I have been painting before, but starting from last November, I really got serious about it. I had a great time training my "skills" and probing into this rather complicated matter, The Water Colour. In the following, I'll just list some of the more important things I learned about the medium. My suggestions are not aimed at the water colour pro, but at beginners - as I would think of myself as being a beginner as well.

I'll sort out my most important experiences and give them short titles, so you can remember them more vividly.

WATER - This is the most crucial aspect about painting water colours. Most beginners use too much water, much too much. The paper gets soaked and is not ready to receive any more paint. The result is a pale picture. I overcame this obstacle by deliberately producing very dry water colours. I'll lean to the dry side first, I thought, afterwards I can get more loose and let my colours run and swing and sing. This was quite a good approach, but it took about 100 (one hundred!) water colours until I had absolute control of the water business and could allow myself to be more free with my colour usage. I did some abstract monochromes and suddenly I realised that they really looked like what I would call "water coloury", juicy and free and full of contrasts. Most books pretending to teach you how to paint water colours don't mention this long ordeal in finding a way arround the water and then into it again.